When and how to add milk

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kazmi

Reaction score
I would like to try using almond milk and honey in my next batch of soap but after researching I still can't determine how to use it. I don't want to freeze the almond milk (no ice cube trays). I've read that you can use it as a percentage of your water and it's best not to add lye direct to it because it could burn the milk. But after all I've read I still don't know how to use it. Yes, I'm a newbie - sorry! So I need some help. Please tell me if I have this wrong. If my recipe calls for 1 cup of water (just assume - not actual) then I mix a half cup of water with the lye. Then after the lye cools I add a half cup of almond milk. Is that correct and is it the best way to do it without using frozen?

Also, regarding honey. If I want to add some at trace (mixed with a little warm water or warm oil) will it still add some color to my soap. And if I do it this way will the sugar content heat up the soap so I need to consider this when deciding to gell or not gell?

I'm sorry for all of the questions. I probably should have asked in two separate posts (one about the milk and another about the honey). I appreciate everyone's help and the wealth of knowledge here and figured its best to ask to avoid a disaster batch :wink: