What do you do with all the soap?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Keds45

Reaction score
Hello! Im very new to the hobby and this forum.. Out of curiosity, what do the serious soap hobbyists do with all your excess soap? There's really only so much a family can use, and my friends/ neighbors aren't sharing my enthusiasm. I'm planning on making (a lot) more as I love the whole chemistry/art behind it, and I want to learn as much as I can! Did any of you ever find yourselves in this predicament?

I am in that predicament now. I give soap to almost everyone- the cashier who rings up our groceries twice a week, the ladies at my dining divas group, and I give my friends & family extra to give away (it's well labelled).
If I really get too much stored, I plan to donate.

I have found a couple of places to donate. I just wrapped and labeled 36 bars on Friday, and they will be donated tomorrow. I give friends and family as much as I can, with my blessings if they want to share with others. I'll occasionally leave a few bars in my mailbox for our mail carrier. DH is even giving a few bars here and there to people as a little thank you for things. The staff at my dental office and chiropractor office get some. During the holidays I can really unload...er...gift to everyone I come in contact with.

Nursing home twice yearly: Nurse Appreciation Day in May and Christmastime. I bring enough for all staff to take their pick.

Hubby's co-workers about twice a year, plus now and then a specific co-worker or two who show positive interest.

Doctor visits: I sometimes bring enough for two bars per staff member. Our family doctor has a small staff, so it's not a lot of soap.