What am I doing wrong?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello, I'm pretty new to soapmaking and am trying to learn some different techniques. Something has gone rather wrong today and wondered if anyone can help me identify the problem?

I saw the 'Birchwood Oud' tutorial on Brambleberry's site and wanted to try it, but didn't want to order the fancy oils used in the recipe just to make this one soap. I can't really afford to buy ones like those as I don't know enough yet to be able to use the leftovers in the bottles, and as they seem to have shelf-lives I'm steering away from them for now and am keeping to about 10 different ones that are easy to get here in the UK. Anyway I tried to make it using a basic recipe I found somewhere. Sorry for the odd percentages, the recipe was in ozs that I'd scribbled down on a bit of cardboard a few months ago, and I had to convert it to % in order to scale it up for my mould. I scaled up the lye and water by volume so don't know the percentages of those (I'm afraid I don't understand lye concentrations yet!), but accidentally added about 12ml extra water. Anyway this was my recipe:

Olive oil 34.04%
Palm oil 29.82%
Coconut oil 29.82%
Castor oil 5.96%

I cooled everything down to about room temperature (my kitchen is on the cool side but I had the fan heater on so it was comfortable enough). When I turned on the blender though, the oils seemed to get really thick pretty much straight away, before hardly anything was mixed. The upshot was that I had very thick batter almost straight away, so sadly couldn't try the technique in the tutorial. Things got slightly looser when I added the fragrance but not enough to be able to pour it.