Weight question

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scrubbie

Reaction score
Quick question:
I read a description of a soap and it said 25 percent milk. Is it 25 percent milk to water soultion of 25 percent of the weight? I am cornfused

By the way since I started learning and loving this hobby and art form, I have been a lurker on here perptually :lol: Irish Lass and Care bear you guys where right my rice brand oil soap hardened so nicely it is a amazing soap. The only thing I dont like is the calendula on top looks wilted.

lizshade said:
Quick question:
I read a description of a soap and it said 25 percent milk. Is it 25 percent milk to water soultion of 25 percent of the weight? I am cornfused

Your guess is as good as mine! :lol: Unless the soapmaker was forthcoming as to how she/he figured the milk in, we'll never know. Having said that, if I were the one making the soap, it would be 25% of my water amount. But that's just me and how I do things.

IrishLass :)

Edited to add: I'm glad your soap turned out well. :)

If it was an experienced soap maker than I am guessing it was 25% of the oil weight. I prefer to use less water as it lets me unmold faster, but since you are a beginner I would do what Irishlass suggested and use the milk as 25% of your water. Don't forget to freeze it though and mix in as a slush to avoid it burning...good luck :)

I list my Goat Milk as 36% and that is a percentage of oil - so all of my liquid is GM. I also use full fluid because it is GM and I want to get the most I can in each batch of soap.

If I do a vegan soap I will use water (rain) and my percentage to oil is much less than 36%.

Hope that makes sense.

it would typically mean that 25% of your liquid will be milk.