Water %

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sapwn

Reaction score
I see that web soap calculators calculate water at 38%
In some of them the percentage of water can be changed by the user.
I have seen that some of the members here follow a water discount. I recently saw someone’s recipe with 28% water.
Is 38% the right percentage of water for any soap, no matter hot or cold process?
Is there any benefit for reducing the water? Does the soap cure earlier?

Thank you!

I am no expert so someone can correct me if I'm wrong, but my understanding of adjusting the water allows for quicker trace, a denser soap at pour and immediately after and less water to evaporate out during cure. However, you should still cure for the 4-6 weeks and never go less than a 1 to 1 ratio of lye to water. And I don't think altering the water amount does anything else to the soap qualities itself.

discounting water depends on a few things...28% water is good for beginners...after a few successful batches then 33% (water/lye 2:1) should be good...the less water the faster the soap will trace and the more reactive it will be to f/o's and soaping temps...you can change soapcalc's lye/water ration simply by clicking on the next line below the 38% default and insert 33.

I have had mixed results with HP, so I will let the more talented here chime in on that.

Last edited:
discounting water depends on a few things...28% water is good for beginners...after a few successful batches then 33% (water/lye 2:1) should be good...the less water the faster the soap will trace and the more reactive it will be to f/o's and soaping temps...you can change soapcalc's lye/water ration simply by clicking on the next line below the 28% default and insert 33.

I have had mixed results with HP, so I will let the more talented here chime in on that.

did you mean 38% for beginners?