Using naturally coloured oils.

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tracy Harding

Reaction score
Morning, I need some help please - i've been experimenting with making naturally coloured oils to colour C P soaps.
I've made some turmeric, paprika and alkanet oils, with a ratio of 2 tblspns to 4 oz oil. I'm not sure what ratio of the coloured oil I should be using in my soap base. In the test batches i'm using 200g oil in total so need to no what % should be coloured. Thanks All.

I'm by no means an expert but you're welcome to my notes on the alkanet batch I made previously.

The oils were:
Tallow 125g
Olive oil 81.25g
Coconut oil 43.75g

All of the olive oil was taken from a batch of 200g of olive oil which was infused with 17g of alkanet powder. (My filtering did not work very well, hence the specks)

It was made on 21st Feb this year, this is what it looks like today in natural light:
IMG_20210326_173245.jpg

I'm by no means an expert but you're welcome to my notes on the alkanet batch I made previously.

The oils were:
Tallow 125g
Olive oil 81.25g
Coconut oil 43.75g

All of the olive oil was taken from a batch of 200g of olive oil which was infused with 17g of alkanet powder. (My filtering did not work very well, hence the specks)

It was made on 21st Feb this year, this is what it looks like today in natural light:
View attachment 55484
Thanks for your help, the flecks look

The oils were:
Tallow 125g
Olive oil 81.25g
Coconut oil 43.75g

View attachment 55484