Sticky soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tiffanyjayne

Reaction score
So i got my M+P soap this morning and so far i've made a 2 layer loaf, 3 guest soaps, i've used 4 colours, 3 oils and an exfoliater so lots of things going on, the one thing i have noticed is that even after 5-6 hours the soap is still sticky, not tacky like it's wet but leaving a greasy residue on my hands when i pick it up to move it/wrap it, should m+p do this or am i doing something wrong?

Thanks in advance

Your supplier should have a recommended maximum amount of other oils and additives that you can add to their M&P. Is it very humid where you live?

Sorry I'm not very good at explaining myself and I'm doped up on meds so bare with me, I made about 6 types of m+p soaps but I used 3 different essential oils for smell, I bought the m+p from eBay and it came with no ingredient list or tips so I added 3-5 drops to each mix in the hope it would work, other than the essential oil and colour I didn't add anything else except to one that I added lavender buds but they all have the same tacky feel to them like they are too warm and ready to melt, I hope that explains things a little better x

Without knowing more about the base and the ingredients in it, it is hard to really know what is going on. Maybe try a good quality base (that lists the ingredients) from a reputable soap supplier. I have used only SFIC bases and have never had the problem you are describing. So without having more info, not really sure how to help. Can you ask the ebay seller for more info about what you purchased.

I like to let my MP soap sit out for several days before wrapping, so give yours a bit of time and see how it is. Are you in an air conditioned setting?