Soft Soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chopin

Reaction score
Hi there, I'm new to soap making.

I recently tried this recipe: olive oil 40% (6.4oz)
coconut oil 25% (4.0oz)
avocado oil 20% (3.2oz)
almond oil 15% (2.4oz)
water 38% (6.08oz)
lye (2.24oz)

After two weeks the soap is still very soft, almost like play dough.
I am not sure whether it went through gel phase or not, there has been no colour change and the soups are opaque. I used individual silicon moulds, so maybe it cooled down too fast?
I also read somewhere that you should add less water to high % olive oil soaps, but I followed soapcalc's directions and used 38% water. Could that be the problem?

Please could you let me know what I did wrong and if I can fix it.

Thank you so much.

For a hard bar you are best with at least 40% hard oils, you only have the coconut, and have a high amount of olive and avocado which are soft. Are you drying to go Palm free, or avoid animal fats?

Yeah, its probably from the water amount. Its nothing to worry about though, it will eventually get hard. Gelling probably wouldn't have made much a difference. Next time you make soap, try lowering to water amount to 34% on soapcalc.

My bastiles with 70% OO, 25% CO and 5% Castor made with soap calcs default water can usually be unmolded in 24 hours - 48 at the most. So it shouldn't be the recipe. Your soap calcs all check out for a 5% superfat soap. Whether you gelled or not (probably not in individual molds) it should be firm after 2 weeks in my experience, mine certainly are - have you taken the soap out of the individual molds?

One possibility is the lye, if its old and absorbed a lot of water it would be clumpy and problematic - was it good, dry lye?
Another possibility is your scale - did you use a decent digital scale? Does a nickel weigh 5 grams on it? In small batches accuracy becomes critical.