Soap still too soft even after rebatching :(

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

icay

Reaction score
Hello!

I am new to soap making and tried my second batch with my own recipe. I've used oatmilk mixture with distilled water 50/50 and %33 lye solution. Calculated everything in soapcalc and gelled the soap. After 2-3 days it was still too soft to cut, it was tearing apart when I tried to cut so I left (forgot) it unmolded for 1,5 month. But because it was still too soft to cut I rebatched it as I read in the forum.

Now it has been 5 days but still when I touch on it, it leaves finger prints :( So I don't even try to cut it..

And i dont know if its relevant but after I add the honey at a light trace it seemed liquified a little bit and I might didnt mix it enough- I'm not sure :/

Because raw materials are just so expensive in where I live it is really hard for me to experiment, to try new formulas every month and/or throw something away so I did a lot research before starting it but it seems it was for nothing :(

Can please someone help me to understand where did I wrong and maybe if I can make this batch hard or usable?

The formula is;

%25 coconut oil
%15 shea btter
%10 cacao butter
%30 olive oil
%15 avocado oil
%5 flaxseed oil
some essential oils (bergamot, clementine and lavender)
and 4 tablespoon of honey (1 tablespoon per pound)
some vitamin E
%33 lye solution with 50/50 oatmilk mixture

Thank youu!!

I would suspect the honey and flaxseed oil in combination.

But we need your exact measurements of all ingredients to be more precise. The only precise measurement you provided was 4 T. of honey. Also how is your vitamin E delivered? Is it from a vitamin capsule or is in mixed in a carrier oil in a bottle? (Often vitamin E in a bottle of oil is not pure, but mixed with soybean or other carrier oil, so this matters in your calculations as well.)