Shave Soap Puck vs Cup

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I’ve read all the posts from the “Ancient Ones” on shave soap, but I have questions for the current generation. I ordered some stainless silver bowls to make shave soaps. I was think of making pucks with the assumption that it was as simple as cold process with more CO and castor than regular bar soap. THEN I started seeing all the old posts saying: 1) You can only make “real” shave soap using hot process (which I’ve never done)? and 2) “real” shave soap is made with KOH (which I’ve also never used).

Questions:

Is KOH and hot process the gold standard?
If so, how would you ever cut gummy KOH soap cut into pucks to package?

Clearly, I’m a shaving cream kinda guy but who know I might go full Parisienne in retirement /:{>

I can only speak of my experience. I’m no pro but have made quite a few batches but tweaked a bit from the original thread. I make it with KOH and HP. I pour it into low profile 8 oz jars but also make pucks that fit in the jar when finished. My husband and several of his friends like they can just drop a new puck in the jar when done. I’ve never made CP shave soap so can’t speak to it.

After it sets out to cure (puck) it fairly hard enough to shrink wrap or i have wrapped them in unbleached coffee filters.

The reason folks HP shave shave is that you need a lot of stearic acid to create that super thick foam. Stearic acid really has to be hot processed as it instantly reacts. The inclusion of KOH is to soften the puck so it is easy to whip up lather. The inclusion doesn't make gummy soap - it's just a bit less hard than a regular soap. I use a pringles container as my mold and use my regular wire cutter to slice into pucks the day after I make it.

Before making shave soap, I also hadn't hot processed... if I can do it - you definitely can!