Recipe SOS!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mestiza Girl

Reaction score
Hey y'all! I'm new to making soap and I came up with this recipe. I'm not sure how to determine a sufficient SF percentage so I just went with what I felt was..safe? I would really love to get your feedback and hear what numbers may need to be changed! I attached a picture.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    119.5 KB · Views: 18
Last edited:
Looking at your recipe the first thing that jumps out to me is your castor oil. At 20% it will produce a soft soap. It's usually not recommended above 10% and most people add it at 5%. Your recipe is high in soft (liquid) oils which will lead to a softer soap with a longer cure time. If you have nothing against using lard I'd suggest adding some for hardness or if not lard then palm oil. I usually use lard at 40-50% of my recipe. Your coconut oil percentage is good. Too high and it would be harsh. I use it no higher than 17-18%. Super fat is a personal preference. I usually leave it at the 5% and have gone as high as 8% depending on my recipe. My laundry bars are 0%. I am not sure what you're using for your calculation program but I ran your recipe through soap calc and your grams and ounces don't balance out the same. Your grams are 906; at 3% sf your lye would be 4.38 and water 8.88. Using the ounces you entered would be 31.6 ounces; your lye would be 4.33 and water 8.78. Others will jump on and give some great ideas. :)

and to add, lavender buds on top of soap will eventually turn brown from the lye monster and imo they look like mouse droppings

Last edited by a moderator:
I’d advise: lower your caster to 10% and add 5% to both the coconut and olive.