Recipe Feedback please

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zadielee

Reaction score
I am a brand new soaped, getting ready to make my very first batch! I know that I over analyze things but could someone with experience look at what I ran through soap calc and see if it looks OK?? Thank you so much

Attachments

• 04D17398-0181-4DE3-A4A0-ADF1C4EE9CF7.png
    04D17398-0181-4DE3-A4A0-ADF1C4EE9CF7.png
    502.6 KB · Views: 65
Hallo @Zadielee! I'm no expert but I can give you some opinions if you want em hehehe

Is your goal a high olive oil soap? If it is then your recipe is fine, but I'd lower my water amount if it was me. You don't need much water for soaps with a lot of olive oil or other high oleic soft oils. My personal preference would be between 1.8 and 2:1 water:lye ratio. Here's why.

Also, there are very few who notice any ingredient at only 5% except for castor oil. Most use what they have at a minimum 10% unless you're deliberately keeping that particular thing low. It's not a rule though, just something we've noticed.

Palm oil makes a hard bar of soap, although olive oil on its own gets very hard too but for me it took about 4 days just to unmold my 100% olive oil soap.

Incidentally, olive oil also makes impressive bubbles, even if there's no coconut, but only after a longish cure. Most suggest curing this type of soap, with olive oil higher than maybe 30-40% longer, because it won't lather as good as it would at maybe 6mos of curing.

If you wanna try your soap sooner than that, maybe increase your other oils a little bit. Coconut at 20% makes lovely bubbles, superfat at least 5%. Sweet almond is also lovely, I've used up to 25% (mainly coz it's expensive where I am lol). I've seen palm used even at 40% but I'm sure less than that gives you a pretty hard bar.