Questions on my recipe for CP

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dbloomingdale

Reaction score
Well, I did not know whether to post this under this beginners topic or under the CP topic. But right now that is the least of my my concern. I've been doing this bath and body hobby for about 16 years but only have about 30 batches of CP under my belt. I have lived in Texas for about 10 years and prior to that in Nebraska. Since living in Texas, all my different soap recipes have come to trace quite quickly. That was until yesterday. Mind you, I am not complaining because it gave me more time to play with my soap.

Here is the situation:
I pulled out a recipe that I had used once before. That being Coconut oil at 30%. Crisco at 20%, Lard at 20% and Olive oil at 30 %. 5% SF. Lye was at 7.19 ounces. Total oils 50 oz.

So the first thing I did was make my lye solution. Then I went to start measuring my oils and discovered that I had no lard. I was on a time constraint as I needed to start getting ready for work. So I subbed the lard for more crisco and ran it thru the soap calc and my Lye was recommended at 7.14. I figured that this would be close enough. I did use an additive in this soap that I have not used in the past. I added 1.5 ounces of ground up oatmeal at trace. Most of the soap was poured in a single rectangle mold but I also poured the some of the soap into two individual cavities before adding my FO (1.5 ounces). I needed two bars with no fragrance.

When I peaked at my soap this morning, it was cool to the touch but it looked like it was stuck in gel phase. The two individual bars look perfect and beautiful. Then I went to clean out my soap pot and before adding any water, I found the soap to be soft and could mold the left over soap into a ball quite easily.