Question about Lye

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Araseth

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to all this but really excited to give it a try. I'm a student so currently staying in a small room with a window, which is where I would like to make my soap. I was just wondering if this will be ventilated enough with the window open? And if anyone can tell me what I should expect for the smell of the lye, will it be too strong do you think? Thanks in advance :)

Lye has a very strong odor when mixed with water, definitely do not breathe it in. Letting the fumes out a window should work just fine though.

Do you have a vent-a-hood on your oven? I mix mine under one of those...so it sucks the fumes right out.

But yes, a window should work as well.

I was scared to death to do soap in my kitchen since I have kids and dogs, but, really, I don't even notice the fumes from the lye unless I'm pretty close to it. I just hold my breath while I stir it into my water (sitting in the sink) and walk away for a minute or two, then stir some more to make sure the lye is dissolved.

Unfortunately I don't have on of those vent-a-hoods, will see how the window goes. Thanks for abating my concerns about the lye. Feeling much more confident now I know what to expect.

I make soap in the kitchen, with all the dogs and cats confined in other areas of our house. My sense of smell is a bit faulty due to chronic allergy/sinus issues. When I make my lyewater, I just turn my face away from the pitcher, and stir at arm's length. I don't smell anything, but I do feel a "burn" in my nose when the lye and water heat up, so when I feel this I just step away for a minute.

You have a source of running water close to where you're going to soap, right?