Pumpkin Seed Oil Recipe?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aselland

Reaction score
I'm trying to figure out a good recipe to use pumpkin seed oil in - trying to do a pumpkin soap with pumpkin puree, pumpkin spice FO, and pumpkin seed oil. I've never used it before. Is this going to be too soft of a soap? Can I change anything up so that I get good bubbles, but still get a fairly hard and conditioning bar? Change any of the percentages? Add sodium lactate and sugar? Help! TIA! :)

Screen shot 2015-09-10 at 7.27.09 PM.jpg

Are you adverse to using lard? i'd switch some of your oils to it...

This is just me... I like to keep my butters down to 10% max to prevent them from impacting my bubbles, and my CO to 20% max since I find it irritating. SL is always nice, but I'd avoid the sugar since pumpkin puree already has sugars. I might bump the PO to 15% and drop the OO altogether

I agree with every that snappy said. The problem is that that will require your changing your recipe a lot, which I am not sure you want to do.

Ie; , like snappy , I would try pumpkin oil at 10-15%, coconut oil at no more than 20 % (for me less, but I am assuming you have normal skin :)). Butters at no more than 10% (I would just choose one and maybe try the other the next time to see what the difference is). Your castor is good. I don't like large amounts of olive - but that is me - so keep it below 20%. If you are opposed to lard, I would use palm for the rest.

ETA: Also, I would add SL and sugar. I always add SL at about 2% ppo, it makes the soap harder/easier to unmold and I think it makes the lather better as well.

Last edited:
A few folks are finding their soap with pumpkin seed oil is developing DOS (rancidity). Not saying everyone is seeing this ... but you might want to tread carefully when soaping with this particular oil.