Please help - newbie in need!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rah

Reaction score
Hello! I am a newbie at soap making (I've only made one batch so far!) and am planning to make my next one soon. I am following a recipe from a book like I did with my previous soap, HOWEVER... when I uploaded my last recipe I was told that I should try my next with 5% lye discount as my previous one had 0% discount.
I have put my recipe into the soapcalc to try to calculate the amount of lye to put in now, but I am not sure if I have done it correctly as I found it very confusing.

Here is my original recipe:
28oz Olive Oil
2oz beeswax
2 egg yolks
2oz creamed coconut
9.5oz distilled water
4oz lye
2tbsp lemon EO
1tsp vitamin E oil

The recipe I have after putting it into the soap calculator is the same for the oils, but with:
11.4oz distilled water
3.731oz lye
Plus, it did not allow me to put in the weights of my extra additives so I do not know how much I need to change them by. Same with the fragrance. :?

I was wondering if someone who is experienced at using the soapcalc could run my original recipe through and see if I have done it correctly?
Sorry about this! :(

Another stupid question - I think I read somewhere (can't remember where... I may even have imagined it) that you can't for example halve soap recipes (to make a smaller batch) as the process won't work. Is this true? The problem is, I have bought two bottles of (pretty expensive) EO so far and I STILL don't have enough!

Any and all help is greatly appreciated!
Thanks a lot,
Rah

http://www.thesage.com/calcs/lyecalc2.php