Non-drying clear MP base - is it out there?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rebobinar

Reaction score
I've been experimenting with M&P soap for a while, and to get the colors I want and the effects I want, I really need to use the clear soaps, BUT, they always leave my skin feeling so dry it's almost sticky.
Does anyone have a favorite clear M&P base? Or is that just how it goes with clear?

Thanks!

I am VERY new at this, and you probably want to take this with a grain of salt... but... I tried 4 types from New Directions Aromatics. I had exactly the same experience with the clear (called, originally, "clear" by NDA). I thought, "yuck... I'd never use this soap." I tried the other types. Same thing. My hunch? It is a property of the glycerine, and if that's the case, we are SOL. Rinse off your hands again, and the stickiness disappears. Now... with regular soap, if you don't rinse completely, you get a film which is icky. But I'm pretty sure that it is more difficult to get it off with M&P. I'll keep experimenting, but so far I am not a fan of M&P.

It's called "Non Certified Organic." Good lather. I wrapped it in felt, and when I used it this morning in the shower, I felt none of the slimyness I talked about in my last post. Whew. WARNING: NDA is in Canada. Shipping is very expensive and REALLY slow getting through customs. (I won't be able to use them again.) By the way... I sent SFIC two e-mail questions late Friday. Early Monday, I got two answers. I sent them an e-mail telling them how much I appreciated that, and got a response from THAT. Seem like good people.

Oops. I forgot... Non Certified Organic is NOT clear. It's a kind of semi-transluscent (got that?) amber. I'm going to order the sample pack from SFIC. I'll let you know if I find anything clear and non-drying.