Newbie from N.E. Oklahoma

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

damngoodscents

Reaction score
I've been reading here for about a month so I figured its time to post! Im new to soap-making...so far only M&P but Im getting ready to take the plunge with CP. Dont mind saying...IM SCARED! lol Im reading everything I can possibly get my hands on regarding soaping. I also want to dabble in lotions, lip-balms, etc...Ive been making my own laundry deterg (powdered) for about a year and I love it. I make it for my grown kids too.
Everyone here is so friendly and helpful! :)

Jaimie

don't be scared of CP. it's no more dangerous than working with boiling water in your kitchen... just be careful and keep kids and pets (and men) out from underfoot and you'll do just fine.

I am from N.E. Ok area also!! I have made about 20 loaves of CP so far and I love it. I was scared before my first time too but after I did it I couldn't believe how easy it was. I read and researched for over a year before I got started and wish I had done it sooner. But I haven't had a bad batch yet, just had my first two overheat a little.

So Scout, where are you located? Im in Grove, on Grand Lake. Nice to have a soap buddy so near!
I finally gave in and made a loaf, from a recipe found on the net. Its scented with lavender and vanilla and I added oatmeal. Aside from a little difficulty getting it out of the mold, no problems, but we will see in about 4 weeks how I really did ;P.
Ive been doing the M&P, which I love because its so easy and hard to mess it up. Heres a picture of my latest m&p..Chocolate with vanilla topping-must resist the urge to taste test! lol
IMG_0933.jpg