New with a few ?s

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jamesgrogers

Reaction score
Hello I am new to soap making (haven't made the first bar yet) I do remember watching my grandfather make soap when I was a kid, and I just happen to have a chunk of lye soap that he made over 30 years ago. I keep it in my workshop just for memory sake. I am interested in making soap for fishing bait so my questions revolve around using a lard or a pure tallow base with anise or menhaden oil as a flavoring and making the soap to a softer consistency so the hook will go through the chunks but firm enough to hold shape and be cutable with something like a cheese slicer. I use a lot of zote brand soap to fish with I just thought I could make a better product more suited to fishing with flaovors that the fish might prefer. any guidance will be appreciated I am looking over your forum and the info is vast to say the least. Where should I start?

James

jamesgrogers said:
Hello I am new to soap making (haven't made the first bar yet) I do remember watching my grandfather make soap when I was a kid, and I just happen to have a chunk of lye soap that he made over 30 years ago. I keep it in my workshop just for memory sake. I am interested in making soap for fishing bait so my questions revolve around using a lard or a pure tallow base with anise or menhaden oil as a flavoring and making the soap to a softer consistency so the hook will go through the chunks but firm enough to hold shape and be cutable with something like a cheese slicer. I use a lot of zote brand soap to fish with I just thought I could make a better product more suited to fishing with flaovors that the fish might prefer. any guidance will be appreciated I am looking over your forum and the info is vast to say the least. Where should I start?

James