new to soap making

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shans

Reaction score
hi all i am new to soap making and i am looking to get some advice and insight on this new adventure.
so i do not use olive oil however my soaps are made with coconut oil..shea butter..cocoa butter..vegetable lard and a very small amount of palm kernel flakes and well of course essential oils.

Is it my assumption that the butters will add moisture to the soap? any advice will be greatly appreciated

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome to the forum. The butters may cause less stripping of the skin's oils. Unless we know the percentage of each ingredient used it will be hard to give accurate advice.:)

Hello and welcome. Butters do make for a hard soap but also add to the cost. By Vegetable Lard do you mean shortening? Using a lot of coconut andPKO can make a drying soap. If you post your recipe members would be better able to help you out. Also, visit the introduction forum and tell us a little about yourself.

Welcome to the forum, you don't have to use just essential oils in your soap, a lot of people here use fragrant oils with great success.

Welcome to the forum. The butters may cause less stripping of the skin's oils. Unless we know the percentage of each ingredient used it will be hard to give accurate advice.:)
hi sorry for he late response the ingredients are as follows
coconut oil - 35%, Shea Butter 20 %, Cocoa Butter 20%, Lard (shortening) 15% and palm kernel oil 10%......i hope that's ok

Welcome to the forum, you don't have to use just essential oils in your soap, a lot of people here use fragrant oils with great success.
hi i do use scented oils at times as well i actually did one with vanilla scent and was amazing....but thanks for that tip :)