New to Soap Making Question

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ScottN

Reaction score
I’m new to soap making and have a question: I would like to reproduce something similar to Williams shaving soap which is tallow based. I found a tallow based soap flake that has almost identical ingredients to the Williams shaving soap with the exception of a few ingredients such as: potassium stearate, glycerin, fragrance, stearic acid, and tetra sodium etidronate.

Can I add these additional ingredients to the tallow soap flakes in a “melt and pour” process? Would this work?

I appreciate any experienced opinions.

Hello @ScottN, and welcome to soapmaking. Without knowing the exact ingredients of the tallow soap flakes, nor the ingredients of the specific Williams soap you are trying to dupe, any answers we give would have to be wild guesses. If you can share both of those things in full detail, we may be able to assist.

However, it's not all that easy to add any significant quantity of additional ingredients to an already-made soap such as your tallow soap flakes.

Is there a reason you don't want to create your own shaving soap using just the ingredients from the Williams shaving soap, including some KOH and NaOH?

First of all, AliOop, thank you for your reply. And, in answer to your question about why I don’t create my own shaving soap from scratch, well, I certainly would like to as I’ve always (for many years- and I’m 64) wanted to try making my own soap(s). But… I admit, it’s truly a bit intimidating! I know it’s probably easier than I think, just a matter of taking that first step. And that is why I asked about proceeding with this project using some sort of melt and pour process. Just seemed like an easy way to ease into the hobby without too much commitment, that is, though, if it would work.

So, the shaving soap ingredients per the packaging is: