Never made soap...yet

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello, I am brand new to soap making! I have not made soap yet but it's getting close. I have purchased about $500 in ingredients and am excited to try but I get so overwhelmed with the science behind all the percentage stuff. So many people say to use a soap calculator but I just want to follow a recipe! Of course I don't want to waste any ingredients either so I want to make sure I do it right! Who has successfully made soap by following someone's recipe rather than using those complicated soap calculators?
Thanx in advance ☺️
Janine

Hi @Janine Hoffart and welcome!

There is nothing wrong with using someone else's recipe to start out. I'm sure that 99.9% of us here started that way; I know I did. It's a great way to learn the method of making soap. I do recommend that you learn to use percentages rather than volume right from the start, though. It's an easy way to scale recipes up or down. (You don't want to make huge batches when you're just starting out).

There's an great thread about advice to new soap makers that has a lot of really good information for any new maker. I'd suggest reading through it as often as you need to. :) And, ask questions! Again, welcome and good luck!

https://www.soapmakingforum.com/thr...ou-give-to-your-beginning-soaping-self.62916/

Hi @Janine Hoffart - not all calculators are complicated. I started with the one on BrambleBerry before I learned enough to migrate over to SMFriend. I agree with @Misschief that starting with a recipe is fine, and I bet before you know it, you’ll want to venture out to try something new and a calculator will be needed. Go play around with the easy BB one just for fun, and they also have quick mix oils that make the first few batches easy. Happy soaping 🌸