Need HP Oatmeal recipe

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

evangelos

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am new to soap making and would like to make a bar soap for my wife and 3 daughters (15, 12, 9). I will be using a crock pot and these are the supplies I have:

Olive oil
Coconut butter
Shae Butter
Beeswax
Crisco reg.
Castor oil
Goat milk powder (200g)
lye
Oatmeal
Wild Honey
Tea tree

scents:

lavender
lemon
orange

I know I dont need to use all the supplies but I know I have enough for a simple recipe.

btw, the young ladies say they have sensitive skin.

TIA

I would do 70% Olive Oil, 15% Coconut Oil, 5% Shea Butter and 5% Castor Oil with a 7-10% superfat.

I would mix your lye with water and add the Goat's milk powder to your oils once melted and blend well with your stickblender. Lavender alone makes a nice soap or you could add some orange to it too. That' I'm not very good at.

I would do 70% Olive Oil, 15% Coconut Oil, 5% Shea Butter and 5% Castor Oil with a 7-10% superfat.

I would mix your lye with water and add the Goat's milk powder to your oils once melted and blend well with your stickblender. Lavender alone makes a nice soap or you could add some orange to it too. That' I'm not very good at.

This sounds like a good plan.

I will add that I wouldn't bother with the beeswax. It is tricky to use and I don't think it adds positively to the finished soap.

Add your fragrance at the end of the cook or it will dissipate due to the heat. I would add the honey and ground oatmeal towards the end too.

I use fragrance at 3% of my soaping oil weight. A lavender/citrus combo is a nice one.

How much honey would you add for something like this? I make a oatmeal melt and pour soap for my mom that she loves, I was wondering about making a HP recipie instead.