Quantcast

Long Lasting Mild Soap

SoapMakingForum

Help Support SoapMakingForum:

JeffBez

Reaction score
Hi! I've been making soap for over 3 years and only now just stumbled upon this soap making forum. After looking around all I can say is WOW! In the past I had formulated my recipes based on the what the large popular blogs recommended. Now after reading some of yall's comments, I've started to realize I've been doing it all wrong! I have psoriasis and had been making soap to try and help soothe it but never had much success. I now realize all my soaps may have too much CO in them and that could be the culprit. My soaps also are not as long lasting as I would prefer them to be. I've now completely reworked my formula and would love to hear yall's feedback. My goal is to make a long lasting soap/not hard (Used to make 100% coconut oil soap, NOT long lasting), and one that is very mild. I've heard lots of great things about 100% Olive Oil, but I'd rather not wait around half a year before I could use my soap.

I would be extremely grateful and so would my skin! :)

Thanks!!

NewRecipe.png

lsg

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Have you tried using neem seed oil in your soap? It is good for skin conditions. It is smelly and a little goes a long way. Argan oil is supposed to have anti-inflammatory properties.

DeeAnna

Reaction score
Your proposed recipe looks fine based on the fatty acid profile. I don't know if your skin might be sensitive to the unsaponifiable content of shea .... something to think about.

If you do try lsg's suggestion to use some neem, think of it as being roughly comparable to palm (not palm kernel) or lard. I like it in soap, even though neem has an odd scent that I don't think many people are in love with. But the odor mellows a lot as the soap cures, so I don't find it offensive. Just odd.

GemstonePony

Supporting Member
Reaction score