Liquid Soap Questions

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MissNewbie101

Reaction score
Hello All!
This is my first time experimenting with liquid soap! I wanted to start easy so I purchased some soap base from brambleberry. http://www.brambleberry.com:80/High-Sud ... P4847.aspx I thought that this would be easy enough, but I guess I was wrong! hehehe...

So I wanted to test on a "little" batch before i made a "big" batch that way I wouldn't be to far out if something went wrong.
I noticed that the water evaporated very quickly and the paste didn't melt for quite a while...Soon I had to add more water (more than the 4:1 dilution rate) for fear my pot would burn. I ended up with a very watery batch of soap. To try to remedy this I added some salt water as recommended and it didn't help very much, but in turn made my soap a cloudy white color.
1. I am wondering if this will be remedied if I make a bigger batch of soap? Maybe the water won't evaporate as quickly?
2. Is the 4:1 dilution rate at all reflecting how much soap will be in the finished product? (after taking into account evaporation)
3. I know the website says that it can take up to 8 hrs for the soap to fully dissolve. Do you by any chance know how big a recommended batch looks like so it wont take quite that long?
So I woke up this morning and the "little" batch of soap was all clumpy, even though It was basically water consistency last night.
4. When I make a bigger batch of liquid soap, will it clump after a couple hours, or will it be a normal consistency? Is there any way I can remedy this?

Thank you in advance!!

Hi, I'll try to answer some of your questions.