Jumping right in

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Drew Ackerman

Reaction score
I've done my research, I have my plan.
The base recipe I have chosen is the one as follows:

Enough soap to fill the 5lb bramble berry wood block with silicone insert.

2.png

I am thinking of increasing the lye concentration to 33%, as i wont need extra time to do any designs. This first batch will be a mix and pour and let set.

I just want to ensure that I have the proper ratios as this is my first attempt at making soap. I believe this will be a non fragrance, non colored bar so I can get a handle on this, but I could end up throwing in some fragrance and mica. :D

I would drop the coconut to 20% and increase the palm to 40%
That will give a longer lasting, milder soap. 33% lye is a good place to start. I use it with all my recipes.

Welcome to the forum and the addiction:)

Thank you Obsidian :)
So it is palm rather than coconut that creates a longer lasting soap?

I've done my research, I have my plan.
The base recipe I have chosen is the one as follows:

Enough soap to fill the 5lb bramble berry wood block with silicone insert.

I am thinking of increasing the lye concentration to 33%, as i wont need extra time to do any designs. This first batch will be a mix and pour and let set.

I just want to ensure that I have the proper ratios as this is my first attempt at making soap. I believe this will be a non fragrance, non colored bar so I can get a handle on this, but I could end up throwing in some fragrance and mica. :D

Agree with @KiwiMoose especially since you are using 10% Castor.

You're brave doing 5lbs for your first soap, but you have a good recipe.

Yes, your hard oils like palm, lard, tallow and butters create a longer lasting soap.