Is there a chocolate soap recipe without ACTUAL choc in it?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EmilyKate

Reaction score
I want to make a chocolate and coffee soap, with cocoa in it and cocoa butter and other oils. but the recipes i have been finding have ACTUAL squares of chocolate in them. Something about this is kinda gross to me. yes, i know chocolate is cocoa butter + cocoa + sugar + milk. I guess its the sugar and milk that I'm leery of having in my soap.

If anyone knows of a recipe that would suit picky ole me, i'd love to know it. I was thinking also, maybe i could just plunge ahead and try a recipe that had cocoa butter in it and just dump in some cocoa in at trace? I'm thinking I'll put coffe with the lye water.

I'm not crazy about adding artificial fragrance oils to my soaps- at least just yet cos I'm a beginner and I've heard they can cause seizure and be tricky to work with- do you think just adding cocoa and the coffe as i have described will give much of an aroma? Or is it just gonna make the soap brown and not much else?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions/help.

I don't really understand the concept of chocolate free chocolate soap but... you can use the cocoa powder if you want to. Mix it with your oils before you melt them.

A heaping teaspoon per lb should do the trick.

Are you wanting to add coffee grounds for scrubbing purposes or use brewed coffee in place of the lye water? I put my grounds in at trace.

Hello EmilyKate - I've made Mocha Soap before one time using chocolate squares and another time using the cocoa powder. The chocolate squares held their scent better than the cocoa powder however both lose their scent fairly quickly. I started out like you wanting to not use any added scents to have just the actual ingredients scenting the soap.

HTH

Here are a few recipes. Never tried them.

Cappucino Bar