Increase super fat or soft oils to increase moisture

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

anniet8777

Reaction score
Hello, I’m new to soapmaking and just made my 4th batch today with goats milk. I’ve slightly revised each recipe each time since I’m looking for my perfect recipe. I’m just about there but wondering what is the best way for me to make my bar a little bit more moisturizing? I have dry skin so I’m trying to find a good balance between hard bar along with it being moisturizing.
Today’s recipe was 12% babassu oil, 10% coconut oil, 23% palm oil, 10% Shea Butter, 5% cocoa butter, 25% olive oil, 10% avocado oil, 5% castor oil using all goats milk in place of water and a 7% super fat. Should I go up on the super fat or should I do 55% hard oils and 45% soft oils instead of my current 60/40? Thanks! Any advice would be appreciated :)

Babassu Oil and Coconut Oil are both cleansing oils. I would pick one and omit the other and add the remaining percentage to the Palm Oil.

Technically you cannot make soap more moisturizing, you can just make it less stripping. You have 22% of stripping oils in there. It might just be too high for you. I would reduce it down to 18%. A higher super fat doesn't necessarily make it better 4 dry skin. I actually make mine with 2% super fat and less coconut oil so that I get more soap out of it so to speak, but it is not a stripping. Some people are sensitive to coconut oil so you might just try 18 or 17% babasau oil instead as a little experiment. On a side note if you're not using citric acid, sodium citrate, or EDTA you might be having some soap scum if your water is hard. Soap scum left on the skin can make you itch and feel dried out and kind of flaky as well. I use sodium citrate and it helped that issue also.