I did a short Intro, wanna really introduce myself

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

Hi, I'm a newbie who loves making soap. It has saved my life. I'm going through a difficult period with all my adult children gone and one son who is mentally ill.

I live in Phildelphia, with heavy connects to the hood. I operate two child daycare facilities that serve low income parents. Soap is my mental retirement.

I am a refugee from another forum where I was beat up on daily. I respect this craft of soaping but I honestly want to soap my way according to my morals. I am willing to discuss and accept critiques of my "outside the box" thinking.

In my neighborhood, it is quite racially diverse, summer is the hot time in the city. All the street vendors are out selling everything from turtles, to bootleg perfume and DVDS, to street corner pinchos (those meat on a stick with a slice of white bread).

Everyone is excited about my making soap and I love sharing the knowledge I've learned on these forums. I may be that person who ventures into to selling way to soon but I am comfortable for now with the way I am handling my business.

I'm 45 years old so I remember people selling "tailor-mades" (home sewn dress pants), I enjoy the occassional dinner sold from someone's kitchen to raise the rent, ordered from a copied menu distributed through the community on the day of the sale. I remember when people wore home forged brass earrings, and muslim boys selling oils and incense. I want to show every kid that there is a reason for chemistry class and I'm proud when someone runs up to me in a crowd with a $5 bill and I pass off a bag of soap instead of a bag of drugs.