How much, is too much??

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Michelle Keddy

Reaction score
Hi there,
So this is my first official post concerning soap. I am rather new to cold process soap making and have made roughly 10 batches in the past month (getting ready for Fall farmers markets).

Tonight I made a bit of an oppsy..
I was set to make 3 batches and somewhere along the way I got confused. I measured 2 ounces too much of Canola Oil for my Lavender soap.

The ratio is 8 oz Canola, 8 oz Coconut & 19 oz EVOO.
4.7 oz of lye & 10 oz of water
I use Bramble Berry essential oils, standard mica & titanium dioxide.

For some god awful reason I measured the Canola while the Coconut was still in the pitcher and thought
8+8=18 WRONG 8+8=16 ...derp!

It traced and as far as I can tell it looks like it is setting up.

So my question is, will 2 ounces of extra oil mess up the entire batch??

I figure at this point only time will tell but I figured someone may have made this mistake before and could lend some advice.

Thanks so much!!

Awesome! Thank you so much
I just checked ( I made this batch 4 hours ago) and it is setting up like the rest of them.

I've been waiting 3-4 days to unmold on average.
I will just have to keep an eye on this one!

@cmzaha ahh.. that makes sense. I didn’t think about the affect it would have on the soap itself. I was concerned it wouldn’t solidify but I see how it would just alter the overall feel of the bar itself. Thanks for your help.

Umm... hold up a sec.... you've made about 10 batches in the past month and you're getting ready for fall Farmer's Markets? Do you know what your soaps will be like in 3 months? 6 months? A year? Unless you're selling something other than soap, I'd be holding off for at least a year before even considering selling if you've only been making it for a month.