Help making beautiful swirls in CP soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jenn Lee

Reaction score
Good morning all!

I have been making cp soap for about 6 months now and it's definitely got me hooked! Every time I try to make swirls I fail in some form or fashion. I've read about starting at a lower temperatures, with a very thin trace, making sure to only use EO/FOs that do not accelerate, etc. Somehow, either I'm pouring too thin and it mixes rather than swirls or it's just a little too thick and the only swirl I get is on the top (see most recent picture of soap in the mold and then after it was cut).

The recipe in the picture is: Olive Oil - 50%, Rice Bran Oil - 16%, Sweet Almond Oil - 6%, Palm Kernel Flakes - 9%, Coconut Oil, 76 - 16%, Castor Oil - 3% for 32 oz of oils, 5% super fat and 9.4 oz of water.

I added the lye to the oil mixture around 90 degrees F. I added Yellow Clay and Indigo Powder in a little of the Almond Oil at trace. I added the EO/FOs which where Cardamom EO, Nutmeg EO, and Vanilla FO after adding the colorants right before pouring into the mold. (I'm still working on getting acquainted with the Indigo powder, as you can see from the pictures.) I also added a pinch of Tussah silk to the hot lye solution and .25 oz of Sodium Lactate to the cool lye solution.

My house is fairly warm as I live in Texas and also fairly humid (yeah, it's great ::unhappy face::), so I usually don't cover the molds as last time I did it cracked. I just put it covered with some parchment up higher until it's done gelling, if that's what I'm going for, and then move it down lower when it's done so it doesn't remain too hot. My house is very tall and so in the summer, it's always a lot hotter a few feet above my head, lol.