Help !!! Dual lye

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tmwmo5

Reaction score
Help!!! I’m trying to formulate a hybrid shave soap 65% Koh 35%noah I’m doing cold process As this is what I’m used to, it didn’t volcano it didn’t turn to apple sauce or mashed potato it stayed quite fluid the pour was good but now after 24 hrs in mould this is what it looks like recipe is also below is this normal it has like a gel texture will this harden ? If not can I rebatch ? How do I rebatch ? I started making cp soap 10 years ago I’ve never used dual lye before this is my first time
146AA4FF-84D5-4D6D-A9C8-78280CAA5AD2.jpeg
1EBBD44B-85CD-4CF6-88A3-CEFBAFD35561.jpeg

In order to help you, we really need to know your whole recipe, and the entire process that you used. Without knowing that, the best I can say is that it looks like you did not blend to trace, or you did not use enough lye solution.

The implication I'm getting from your post is you wanted to make bar (solid) soap, so I'm not quite sure why you used so much KOH. Stick to no more than 5% KOH ... 10% max ... if your goal is to make bar soap.

Unless you're trying to make shave soap, cream soap, or liquid soap, you really don't want to use nearly that much KOH. You've basically made liquid soap paste, not bar soap.

It looks fine for liquid soap paste. 35% NaOH, a 5% superfat, as well as the use of palm and shea will probably make the diluted soap somewhat (or a lot) cloudy when diluted. Hard to say -- you'll just have to dilute and see what you get.

@AliOop -- the recipe is sideways in the first photo. It's rather hard to find and difficult to read! But it's there

Thanks, @DeeAnna and sorry @Tmwmo5; when I made my first comment, I was on my phone, and that first picture wouldn't load. Now that I switched to my computer, I can see it.