Friday night fun- I made lotion!!!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

saltydog

Reaction score
And it came out great!!

I followed swiftcraftymonkeys (omg i'm in serious love w/her blog!) basic recipe using olive oil and cocoa butter, plus a humectant (honeyquat) and it worked!

Ok, it's my first time and I'm a little over excited, I know, but it's so nice to make something, have it come out well, and use it right away, yay!!

I do have one question, if anyone cares to give me their opinion:
I find the liquid Germall Plus that swift recommends to be a bit difficult to measure, especially since I made such a tiny first batch. Can anyone recommend a good, dry preservative? I'm thinking it may be easier to weigh?

That is great! I am going to have to check out her blog. What about paraben free preservatives? My friend has been looking at Lotion Crafters and I guess they have some that sound less "chemical" in nature. I wonder how those work?

I bought a jewelry scale so I could weigh the tiny amounts for preservatives in my small batches. Just an alternative.

Congrats on doing the lotion. Fun!

Soapy Gurl- OMGosh, yes, you HAVE to check out swifts blog, it is simply phenomenal!
I only purchased the preservative she recommended, but yes, there are many choices and from what I read, not all preservatives and be used in all applications, so check it out here:
http://swiftcraftymonkey.blogspot.com/

ToniD said:
I bought a jewelry scale so I could weigh the tiny amounts for preservatives in my small batches. Just an alternative.

Congrats on doing the lotion. Fun!

Great idea!! I'm going to look for one, because the measuring makes me nervous. I would have never thought of this, thanks!!

Hazel said:
Congratulations!