Fray-check for burlap- thinking mod podge

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PuddinAndPeanuts

Reaction score
I'm cutting wide burlap ribbon into credit card sized pieces to use as earring display cards. The long sides are factory bound, but the short sides are going to fray if I don't do something. I was thinking of using mod podge on those edges? Thoughts?

Since burlap is not that expensive, why not just try it and see? Also, what about iron-on hem tape? I do not sew, though, so I am grasping at straws....

Are you glueing the burlap to cardboard or something to stiffen it or are you just using the burlap alone? In my experience there are different firmness levels to burlap and I want the right image in my head (though I'm no fabric expert by any means).

I'd imagine midge lodge or glue would work, if your using a cardboard support then whatever adhesive you might be using should work. If you're up for sewing, a zigzag stitch along the last weft thread (think that's the right word) should give a different look with no fancy skills needed. Run the pieces through a machine in a row so it looks like bunting then cut the pieces apart.

I would run a straight line of stitching around the non-salvage edges. This way the burlap will fray up to the stitching and look very natural. If you want them stiffened modge podge would work, or using fray check just on the very edge will stop fraying but will stiffen the edge and show a little. The long edges are the selvage if this is burlap purchased by the yard. By stitching around all four sides it will look more natural but that is a personal choice

Are you glueing the burlap to cardboard or something to stiffen it or are you just using the burlap alone? In my experience there are different firmness levels to burlap and I want the right image in my head (though I'm no fabric expert by any means).