First Lard Batch

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

squyars

Reaction score
So I made my first batch with lard today. I rendered the fat, and had enough to use 20% in a one pound batch. In addition I included CO, OO, Palm Oil and castor oil. At trace I added NGs Deb' s Flower Garden FO and poppy seeds.

I have heard some nice comments about lard, but am wondering if 20% is a good amount. I will probably purchase some lard when I go shopping tomorrow, and would love to hear some favorite recipes using lard.

Thank you.

I've never used lard before but it seems that some people use it in place of palm. Take a recipe you've made before with palm and sub it with your lard. That will give you a good comparison to see if you like it.

I've used lard from 9% all the way to 100%. 25% is where it really becomes noticeable to me but I prefer it at 35% or more. Lard is fantastic, its my favorite hard oil.
Here is one recipe I like quite a lot.
2dchc14.jpg

I have enjoyed how moisturizing lard is, and cheap! Word of warning though, don't heat the lard above 140 or so, the piggy smell is evident in the bar if overheated, although the smell has dissipated through cure. Just gently melt the lard in the double boiler, and take off heat when mostly melted, the residual heat will melt the lard when stirring.

I'll be trying my first lard soap next week. I'm making a Tres Leches soap using 3 milks: almond, goat and buttered. Can't wait to try it. I've heard so many good things about it. I was a little turned off at first, but really I do enjoy a good pull pork sandwich. So what is the difference. I have read about keeping it at low temp because of the smell.

I have used lard from the start of my soap making. My first few batches I used 50% with just almond oil and CO. They were good. I know use it at % with safflower, palm and CO and coconut milk.