First Batch Recipe

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ExplodingPie

Reaction score
Hi, I'm totally new to soap making. I wanted to start, so I came up with this recipe. Can you tell me if it's any good or not, and how I can fix it.

30% Lard
20% Coconut oil
20% Canola oil
30% Olive oil

Also, I wondering if I can just put the oils in a bottle, followed by lye, and just shake the whole darn bottle. Will that work? I'm mostly gonna go to Goodwill and get a stick blender though.:?

I can't tell you whether or not it will be good, but after running the recipe through soapcalc I see it will be a rather soft, yet conditioning bar of soap. Experience will be the best teacher on this. Just be sure to run it through the lye calculator. As far as shaking goes....not thinking that's a good idea. You will probably get a whole lot of air bubbles which won't make your soap look so pretty, and you might be shaking for a while. I'd just wait till you get the stick blender. Have fun and be sure to post pictures!
Cheers!
Anna Marie

Thanks, I appreciate the help. I can't get much help from friends, as I am a teenage guy:smile:

Lard is supposed to make a great soap for skin. I haven't used it, but once for laundry soap. I do hear soapers caution people to melt lard over VERY low heat, or it can smell like wet dog in your final soap???? The coconut will give you good lather, and the olive is high conditioning, so you have good fats and oils in your recipe. Do you have a source of info for learning to make cold process soap (a book or videos)? If not, I'd highly recommend Soap Queens videos on YouTube. She has a short, four part series where she walks you through the process. They are great tutorials!
Cheers!
Anna Marie

"...Also, I wondering if I can just put the oils in a bottle, followed by lye, and just shake the whole darn bottle. Will that work?..."