Feeling Dizzy when mixing the oils with Lye

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nicebubbles

Reaction score
Greetings all, I'm new with soap making, had a few small batches to see how it goes and all came successfully.

Question I have is, I make my lye water out of my house, in a open space and I use all the safeties, however, when I bring the solution back to my kitchen and start mixing it with the stick blender, I can smell a bit of lye and it makes me feel dizzy and my heart starts racing a bit.

Have you experienced something like this, should I use gas mask of some sort while mixing the lye ?

I'm using 99.0% of soda caustic solution.

Thanks in advance

I'd invest in a good mask if it is bothering you. Everyone is different, so experiences are going to vary. I've taught one-on-one soapmaking classes with individuals who had no problems with it, and then I've had some who had to completely step out of the room because they were coughing. If you have an exhaust fan you can run, see if that helps too.

I know everyone is different but I've never heard of the scent of lye/oils making someone dizzy. If you were breathing in actual lye fumes, you would know it as it hurts badly.

I have to ask if you are very nervous when making your lye or soap? Any chance you might be hyperventilating? I know when I have panic attacks, I get dizzy and my heart races.

Welcome, Nicebubbles! :)

Lye only bothers me if I happen to breath in any of the mist/fumes when I am dissolving it into my water to make the solution. The hot vapor that rises up from the exothermal reaction as it's dissolving irritates the lungs and shouldn't be breathed in. It only took me one time to learn that lesson (caused a coughing fit).