Facial soap for Rosacea

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sandywillow

Reaction score
Ok, so I am fairly new to soap making and I have already made around 6 different batches of soaps. I am loving making new soaps for my family and friends of which they are enjoying them as well.
I have a couple family members of mine that have serious problems with Rosacea and I would like to see if I can get a recipe started that I can use to make a facial bar of soap for this issue.
Can someone here help me create a nice, decent bar of soap?
Thanks in advance for any ideas

You can try pretty much any soap with a low cleansing number. Everyone responds differently. My husband uses my regular soap bar and it has pretty much cleared up his issues with Rosacea. There's not going to be one magical recipe that will help everyone unfortunately.

For starters, it probably should be a very mild bar. I googled rosacea and cp soap. Here is a link to recommendations for commercial soap: http://internationalrosaceafoundation.org/soaps.php
I noticed one is for goat's milk soap. You can add dried goat's milk, mixed with enough water to dissolve. Discount that water from the water used for the lye solution. I would add the goat's milk mixture to the oils and stick blend well before adding the lye solution. If you want a light colored bar, you will need to pop the soap into the freezer immediately after pouring into the mold. If you want it to gel, just leave it out, it will turn a deep beige color, but that is OK. Aloe vera is soothing, so you might research adding that to the soap. The following essential oils are said to be anti-inflamatory, so you might add one or more of those to the soap. Always research ingredients before using for a skin condition.:)

• German chamomile
  • Roman chamomile
  • Cape chamomile
  • Helichrysum
  • Lavender
  • Myrrh
  • Patchouli