Eureka, maybe

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am sure that many of you have read my whining about my last few batches accelerating EVERY single time. I thought i narrowed it down to increasing my FO percentage. But i made a batch last night using Obsidians Lard soap recipe and minimal FO, which i have used before. Plop plop into the mold again.

I woke up today with a possible cause (guess sleeping on it makes sense now lol).

I have usually let soapcalc determine my lye/water. Lately i have been manually entering in my “lye concentration” to 33%. I don't know why this didn't occur to me before...

I am still learning all of this stuff, so forgive me for being stupid. I feel like the more advanced learning i try to do, the more likely my soaps are gonna fail.

Running it through soapcalc again today with the defaults, the recipe was almost 100 grams of water more than when manually entering 33% lye concentration.

This is my problem?

You mean you just leave it at the default of 38% Water as a Percent of Oils? That would be more water than a 33% lye concentration. I never use the Water as a %; I use the Lye Concentration just because it makes more sense to my brain.

I'm confused on your statement. Did you change it to 33% lye concentration or just left it at its default setting on the calculator? Even so, more water should't make it set up faster. I only use lye concentration as well.

I was just leaving it at that default when punching in my recipes.. Lately i have been changing to lye concentration and manually putting in 33% instead. I am quite sure it is something that is not clicking in my brain.

I guess i am saying the whole thing wrong lol.

Up until the past week or two, I never touched the lye/water settings on soap calc and used what they said i should use. I was soaping that way for my long 3 month career.