Drying

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

juliab86

Reaction score
I'm new to soap making. After I let my CP soaps cure, I test them by washing my hands with them. I find that the first time I wash my hands with a bar, my hands feel tight once they dry, but when I wash my hands with thee same bar later, no tightness and the soaps work fine. I was wondering if this is common or if I am doing something wrong.

Is it common for soap to become milder with longer aging.

When is the first handwash?

What percentage superfat do you use?

I tend to be impatient, so the first handwash was 4 weeks. I superfat at 5%. I probably just need to learn patience.

No, you are doing just fine. Some people first wash at 2 days! I found out quickly my skin cannot do that, so I wait at least 4 weeks too to try a hand wash.

Wait for those with more experience to advise properly. I did find 5% superfat was too low (drying) for showering with sensitive skin, so I have upped it, but that is just me.

Sounds like your soap is perfectly normal! :)

I did my first ones around 5% but discovered I like it better at 6 or 7%, it could just be that your skin likes a higher superfat :)

For me, 4 weeks is still a little too soon. The difference between 4 and 6 weeks on my soaps is significant, and ideally I wait 8 weeks (I know, most people don't like to wait that long). Your soaps will become more mild, but let a bar or two sit for 6 weeks before you try it and see if that helps.

Another possibility is ash. Do you have any visible ash on your soaps? You could be getting some very fine sodium carbonate, which is quite caustic. That would explain why it would be drying the first time but not after that. Just a thought.