Drying soap ..

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sena

Reaction score
I have already read the threads on this subject, and I am still at a loss what to do.
I am new to this soapmaking thing, so yes my soaps haven't fully cured but I am not quite sure that this will make a big difference. I bought a local natural soap from the store which is I would say perfect to my skin. The ingredients are:

tallow
olive oil
coconut oil
palm oil
soyabean oil

Which are you suggestions in terms percentages, I am using the calculator to make my soap, but I am not quite happy with them. They work fine for hands or clothes washing, but they pinch my face. Also, I have not used coconut oil in my soaps, do you think that makes such a big difference....?
I desperately want to make all the ingredients right, and to make soap that will not be so harsh on my face.
Thank you

Are you superfatting your recipes when you put them in the soap calculator? For a soap that is not too drying, you want to keep your cleansing numbers lower - you can even go lower than the recommended range of numbers which I think is 12 - 22 in the soapcalc app I use. You also want to have a fairly high conditioning number. Also, the default superfat in soapcalc is 5%, but you can raise that and see if that makes your soap less drying. My usual recipe is 7% SF. A lot of people do 8% SF. If you post a recipe we might be able to give you more specific guidance.

Tallow Beef 18.52 % 1.764 oz
2 Castor Oil 7.41 % 0.705 oz
3 Grapeseed Oil 37.04% 3.527 oz
4 Olive Oil pomace 37.04% 3.527 oz
Totals 100% 0.595 oz