DOS Disaster

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JuliaNegusuk

Reaction score
I am about to sell my first batch of soaps in a couple of weeks time (having got them certified etc) and was just putting the label on one of my basic formula (no colours or perfumes) soap to find a Dreaded Orange Spot! Checking the batch nearly all have these and the soap is only about 5 weeks old. I am gutted. The other varieties don't seem to have it yet, but this was the first one I made. I am really annoyed because I have been making soap for about 3 or 4 years and almost only ever encountered DOS in other people's tales of woe on-line. Even some of my most ancient soaps don't seem to have it - why this batch?!? The recipe uses standard oils I have used time and time again - olive, coconut, shea, cocoa butter and castor oils and a little bit of sugar. It is high olive oil (50%), but so are many other soaps I've made. It is pomace olive oil, but I have used this loads of times in the past without problems. Aaargh! I feel like tearing my hair out I'm so cross. I don't like offering a range of soaps without a non perfumed one but I haven't got time to make a new batch. I only hope the others won't be affected. I guess I must have just used a naff ingredient this time.:cry: Oh woe!

I'm sorry to hear that! Can you list all the changes you have made going from small batches to large batches (I assume) for selling? It could be a problem with your ingredients, but maybe it's something like changing your curing racks. The more detailed you are, the easier it will be for others to help. Good luck!