Does PKO run hotter than coconut?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MarlinFlake

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to soaping (just did batch #6). I did one batch that was 39/28/28/5 Olive/Palm/Coconut/Castor, and then a few days later another batch that was 60/40 Olive/PKO. Both were 1000g of fat, 330g of water, CPOP one hour in the oven at 170 F, then sitting in the oven overnight with the oven off. The temperature of the first batch was around 110 F going into the mold, and the second batch was around 105 F. The first was a 2% lye discount and the second was 6%. Both batches came out fine, but the second one got "alien brain" on the surface. It's a minor cosmetic defect, but I'm wondering how to avoid this in the future.

I've read in a Soap Queen article that this is caused by overheating. I'm curious what advice the experienced folks on the forum might have. Why did one turn out perfect and the other had this "brain" look? Was it the difference in oils that I used? The different lye discount? Should I add more water when using PKO? Was this just a fluke? Any other thoughts?

Thanks!

I've used both and not noticed a difference between them. However, I soap cool and I don't CPOP. I have no problem getting gel without the help of the oven.

Did you use a water discount? Did you use eo/fo or sugar/honey? Those can affect the heating too.

Thanks for the replies!

You reminded me that I did use a different FO. Just 1 tbsp each time, but they were different. The first was Brambleberry's Black Tea, and the second was their Papaya Coconut. I've used the Papaya Coconut before in CP without noticing anything, but of course it could be different in CPOP. Maybe that's the answer.