Diabolical M & P Experiments

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Deyaniera

Reaction score
Hey There! I am new here, just registered, and I was wondering:

Have any of you guys ever experimented with melting commercial soaps? (well 'so called' soaps like Dove, store bought glycerin, etc) And if so, have you successfully made a batch of soap out of it?

I am not completely new to Bath and Body. Ive been making my own body scrubs, balms, and butters for a few years now.

This weekend I decided to take a stab at soap making using some left over coconut oil, shea, and cocoa butter, along with an unscented bar of Dove. Can you say disaster? I dont know if it just isnt meant for M&P or if I added too much oil, but I have a soft lump of goo after 3 supposed days of 'curing'.

I know, I know...I think I have committed a cardinal sin here, but again, it was just for an experiment. I fully intend on getting my stuff in order and maybe experimenting with some M&P Goats Milk Bases.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated :)

BTW, Nice to Meet You All :)

~Dey

I've never tried it, but I get a lot of older ladies tell me they used to make soap, when what they mean is they used to grate up a commercial bar & re-shape it.

At a guess, I would say you went wrong in using the dove in the first place, but hey, if you don't experiment, you never find the new stuff! Without knowing how much extra oil you added I can't comment on if you added too much, but I'm pretty sure you can't add lots to M&P. I'm sure one of our talented M&P soapers will be able to chime in here and clarify 'lots' :D

Oh! And welcome to the forum!

There are several youtube videos of people melting dove type bars, they grow huge & get gooey or somthing, don't they? For a while kids were doing it for kicks.