Deoderant base/EO question

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boyago

Reaction score
So I thought I'd try making my own stick deodorant so I found a recipe online and whipped it up. The recipe was
3 Tbs Coconut oil
2 Tbs beeswax
2 Tbs baking soda
2 Tbs Arrow root
and It called for Tea Tree and Lavendar EO

I didn't have any Tea Tree or Lavendar but someone had given me some some "Jasmin Scented oil" It is an Aromatherapy oil that eludes to being an EO but does not say so directly. It's from a company called Now Personal Care. It was my first try and it is okay. The base is a little grabby on the skin and hair and after a couple months of using it I have broken out a little rash that clears up in a day or two. I suspect the oil but does anybody have any suggestions for EOs? A basic base recipe to fiddle with? Anything for an absolute beginner?

Certain essential oils act as antimicrobials, a fragrance oil will not do anything except make the deodorant smell good. You can do that using essential oils. Lavender essential oil is mild and acts as an antimicrobial. Lavender e.o. is usually available at local health food stores.
Try substituting cornstarch for the baking soda in a very small batch. If you can't get access to essential oils, but have dried rosemary, try infusing the coconut oil with the dried rosemary.

I use 2% neem oil in my deodorant sticks. I also use beeswax and have noticed no problems with the beeswax. Have been using this formula for 3 months and love it. My eo blend is lemongrass,I use lavender & tea tree. I use 8.5% Cornstarch & Kaolin Clay with 2.7 % baking soda. Kokum, Shea, Castor, SAO and PKO are the oils I use.

Gotta love making your first product. :) it's addictive eh?