Curing in humid conditions

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Crafty Rose

Reaction score
I am just starting out with soap making and on my internet travels I have read something I have never thought of. We are going into summer, where I live it is fairly humid as I am just shy (or in depending on who you talk to) the tropics. We get weeks and weeks of rain, it is so humid you are read for a second shower at 8 am and times of humidity around 90%.

How will this affect soap curing? I read on one site that an option was to put the soap in an enclosed plastic container but then read somewhere else that this isn't ideal as the moisture needs to get out, would perhaps putting something like a closet camel in the container help, or should I just not have soap curig when the humidity is at it's worst?

Crafty, R u up in Darwin?? I am on the gold coast and its humid here but not as much as up there ....I dont have any probs here tho....I do cure in a cool room though ( my Laundy ) and after 3 weeks I put the soap in my linen cupboard with a camel ....however the humidity isnt as bad here as it is up there.....

No, From CQ. Originally from Sydney it gets more humid here than I like. I have pulled flour from the pantry more than once to find it green thanks to moisture in the air.

I was playing with some melt and pour soap in Feb and it went sweaty sort of while it was sitiing on racks.

CQ??? is that coastal Queensland?? and yeah it takes abit to get used to our humidity , Sydney has a dry heat...very different...

As for the melt and pour I was under the impression that it needed to be wrapped in clingwrap as soon as set in the fridge/freezer otherwise it will sweat .....I never left mine out on a rack...just set and wrapped it...