Copper Leafing - UPDATED Pic 5/27

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

studioalamode

Reaction score
I just made the prettiest pear novelty soaps. I used a ginger-spice recipe (1T ginger, 1/2 t. nutmeg to 1/2 cup melted base -- I used white this time for an opaque look -- it is one of my favorites)... anyway, when I unmolded them, I used copper leafing on the leaves and on some of the curves of the pears themselves. They turned out really pretty. While I like the finished product, I had a bit of trouble with the leaving - it kept sticking to my fingers. I have never used leafing before. If anyone has a trick to "manage" it, I could sure use some tips.

Thanks!

I will try to take some pics... gotta locate the camera. It may be tomorrow - hubby is buggin' me to go for a walk. In fact he's standing over me. :D

OK. here's a picture, but I can't get the lighting right to not have the copper look like it is out of place - it looks very stark and rigid in these pics, but in actuality, it is smooth and blends well with the curves of the pears.

I'm used to photographing jewelry -- I don't have my soap photo skills down yet.... the copper just photographs real shiny compared to the dull soap.

If you use leaf (gold, silver, copper, etc.) you can wear clean white cotton gloves, or apply a bit of talc or cornstarch to your hands before hadling the leaf.

While I really like the look of those soaps, what are the liabilities with using leaf on them? Or is it a special leaf for soaps?? Just wondering as I haven't seen anyone do that before..

I haven't got the quote thing down yet, so this is in reponse to the question about liability. I don't know. I saw this in a book. Thanks for the tip on using powder -- great idea I will try it! I have some angels I want to do the same thing with on their wings.