Can you use 100% whole milk for the oil?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Saltynuts

Reaction score
Happy new year everyone!!!

Just curious - can you use whole milk for the oil? Lots of fat in whole milk, but maybe its not an "oil" so that won't work.

If you cannot, can you substitute out whole milk for 100% of the water in the recipe? How will that turn out?

Thanks!!!

I am very new to CP soap. Because I'm so new, I've never attempted a milk soap, I feel I need a lot more experience with regular CP before I begin the milk soap journey.

That being said, I have certainly read about milk soaps. They are just so lovely.

In my research I have learned that lye added to milk can scorch it, turn it lumpy and an odd color, and smell bad. Some recipes I've read have you freeze the milk before adding lye (for 100% replacement), others have you add the milk at trace, and place your soap in the freezer to prevent overheating.

I've really enjoyed the book Milk Soaps by Anne-Marie Faiola.

Happy New Year!

Thank you Booker and AliOop!

That link you posted was interesting AliOop. But one thing it didn't cover is how much (lye) you'd need if you replaced some/all of the water/oil in the recipe with milk (or other dairy products). Let's say you were making a soap using X oil, wanted it to be 0% superfat, and wanted to use milk instead of water.

It looks like at SoapCalc, you can plug in "Milk Fat, any bovine" as one of the "oils". I guess you could just plug in the grams of fat from any milk, butter, cream or other milk product you are using to the updated lye number, no?

Thanks!!

I just bought at the store:

1. Some canned goat milk

2. Some canned coconut milk

3. Some canned evaporated milk