Can I use 95% hard oils for cp soap ??

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sang90

Reaction score
Can I use 95% hard oils for cp soap ?? 15%coconut 15%PKO 10%Palm 5%castor 55%mowrah butter ... Please suggest

I'm sure you can, if can is the only question...

Now if you're gonna ask if it's gonna lather well then I'll say yes maybe but only after a longish cure. I have no experience with pko, palm nor mowrah, but butters in general aren't the best latherers at high amounts before 3-4mos cure (in my case). Some increase their castor when they have a lot of butters but I've not tried that either.

There's also a tendency that you'll get acceleration (for mango it is the case, not sure how fast for mowrah) so if you're going ahead with this then watch out for that.

Let's see what the others have to say...

I made a 100% cocoa butter soap once, so yes, you can make a soap with 95% hard oils. Just be aware you probably won't have time for any design elements, like swirls. If you want to color, I suggest you add the color to the lye solution (such as indigo or alkanet, for example.) If you are okay with 20% cleansing, your oils will give you that, but for my skin, I'd use less of the two cleansing oils (PKO & CO) but that's me, it just would strip my skin of my natural oils and leave my skin feeling rough & extremely dry. But I think you live in a more humid climate, so it may be fine for you (I don't know.)