Artist's Guilt / Anxiety Thread

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

I_like_melts

Reaction score
Hello! I *think* this is my first time posting in the business forum?
Thanks for having me on the forum, if I haven't said that already. I haven't been making things very long, but I have found all advice I have gotten to be helpful.

I started making wax melts last August or so to help cope with my anxiety. Colors/smells calm me down and its good to have a hobby. It was a slow start, but I got some great advice here and tried several new waxes and suppliers. The "you should sell these" bug hit me around December-ish, after I made large grab bags for all my friends and family last Christmas. I've made a ton of wax, a ton of soap (I do something crafty almost every day and research a lot), and am told that I got a lot of things right rather quickly, and that I should feel confident selling. I don't think I've gotten negative feedback regarding anything I've sold or given away.

Long story short, I feel great making products and get good feedback and that makes me feel good, but I still get butterflies when sending things out. I read that this is a common feeling in creative industries ("artist's guilt"), so I was wondering if anyone else was having a similar issue? If so, how do you "get over it"?

I've never heard of artists guilt. I've been around arty farty people all my life, sold handmade craft items, for a long long time and have never had that as an issue, simply because with whatever I've made, if I wasn't happy with it, it would never have gone out for sale. I would say that when you feel confident in your product their should be no butterflies.

Rather than "anxiety guilt", I get "separation anxiety" when I send my precious "babies" out the door! LOL I do love sharing the things I make and I feel proud when others pay real money for them.